top of page


Manao Music

+43 680 2108771


HOME BASE : East of Austria (near Vienna)

MUSIC STYLE : Smooth Jazz

INSTRUMENT : Saxophones

COLLEAGUES : Kirk Covington, Al Porcino, Wolfgang Muthspiel, Bob Brookmeyer, Concert Jazz Orchestra Vienna, Victor Gernot, Rounder Girls, Russkaja, Hot Pants Road Club, Waldeck

• Jazzfest - Vienna (AUT)
• Jazzfestival/Under The Sky - Montreux (SUI)
• Festival Cultural - Zacatecas (MEX)
• Donauinselfest - Vienna (AUT)
• The Best of Music Festival - Bietigheim/Bissingen (GER)
• Woodstock der Blasmusik - Braunau/Inn (AUT)
• Southern Rhythms Festival - Waltenhofen (GER)
• Internationales Musikfest - Waidhofen/Thaya (AUT)  

• Scholarship recipient of Berklee College of Music

• Album "A World of Bliss"

• #49 on the Smooth Jazz Top 100 Album Chart

• #13 on the Smooth Jazz Radar Chart

• EP "Celtic Dance"
• #5 & #10 on the Smooth Jazz Listener Chart

• Musical Director for the Show "Viva Las Vegas“"
• Musical Director for the Show "Hotter than Ever"

For more Press-Releases click on the CoffeeTalkJAZZ Magazine-Logo. 

CoffeeTalk JAZZ Magazine Copyright logo.jpg
New Alblum "A World of bliss

A World of Bliss begins within ourselves - with the first thought of how we want the world around us to be and what we do to make it a magic place. Music reminds us of this vision and helps us make the world a better place.” explains Markus Zahrl about the title of his new Album.

A World of Bliss is Markus Zahrl´s first full album as a leader. It follows his EP Celtic Dance, released in 2020 (which had 3 songs in the Top #10 Smooth Jazz Listener Countdown). Featuring eight new original songs, the music is an inspiring and uplifting collection that was released on April 30, 2021.

Markus says, „This new album is a contra point to the challenging times we have to face in the world right now. Music is a source to stay positive.“

All eight tracks of A World of Bliss were produced and written by Markus. Two songs—“Dreams Come True” and „Joyful Life“ were composed more than 10 years ago. Markus found them again during the planning process and rearranged them for the new Album. They fit perfectly into the mood of the whole project.

The song „Good Vibes“ was inspired by the „handpan“-Instrument that Markus loves to play. This is a wonderful instrument on which he gets many ideas for his musical life.

2 songs (Chilling in the Nature, Spring is in the house) were a continuous process of the last years to find the final expression of that mood. Especially the musical ideas of band members - Werner Köck, Wolfgang Köck, Harry Hauser and Christian Grobauer made the songs to a wonderful masterpiece. (as with all the songs on the Album)

A World of Bliss, Something New and You light up my Love were composed during the pandemic period and they reinforced the theme of the record, of staying strong and positive even when the times are tough.

Markus Zahrls’ personal relationship with music started at the ago of 5 years with playing the drums. At 16, he picked up the saxophone and immediately loved it, and it was pretty much the only thing he wanted to do in his life. At 17, he joined his town’s  the local big band and turned pro at 19. In the 1990s he studied at the Conservatory of Vienna (jazz saxophone) and at the Berklee College of Music Bosten/USA. Markus was a sideman for artists like Kirk Covington, Wolfgang Muthspiel, Clark Terry, Bob Brookmeyer, Bill Dobbins, Concert Jazz Orchestra Vienna, Rounder Girls, Russkaja, Hot Pants Road Club, Waldeck, Andy Lee Lang and many more, touring and doing sessions for many years before releasing his first solo EP in 2020. His EP immediately reach top 10 of Smooth Jazz Listener Countdown with 3 song and gained international attention. 

Markus, who lives in the Vienna/Austria area with his wife and his son, says after finishing the recordings for this album: „I can’t wait to play this new music live. Playing live is what I love the most. Every time I go on stage I enjoy the deep connection and the energy between the audience and the artist. It creates a magical space where wonderful things happen.“

After being in the music business for 30 years, „I still want to make the world a better place with my music“, says Markus, „I want to heal it in some way and help the people who are interested in my music to reach a place where there is love, joy and no suffering.“ That’s what I wanted to express with this song, and what I´m deeply convinced that music can do for us.“

We are pleased to announce that the album "A World Of Bliss" has already reached #13 on the Smooth Jazz Radar Chart and #49 on the Smooth Jazz Top 100 Album Chart.

bottom of page